How to Temporary & Permanently Delete Kik Account?
Are you exploring to know how to delete Kik account? If you’re looking to take a handle on your Kik account or your child’s account, you’re probably wondering how you can permanently delete the app from your device. Some apps make it hard or impossible to delete your account, but what about Kik? What kind of hoops do you have to jump through to get relieved of the app from your phone?
In this guide, we’ll show you everything you require to do to permanently or temporarily deactivate your account on this popular messaging app.
How to Delete Kik Account?
There is a difference between deactivating an account and deleting it — which Kik points to as temporary deactivation versus permanent deactivation. Temporary deactivation means that you will temporarily stop receiving Kik messages and emails, your username will not be searchable, and your name will get deleted from your contacts’ lists. But you can reactivate your account if you want by signing back in. To deactivate or permanently delete your account, go to Kik’s website either on your phone or computer system. You can access the proper web page on your phone by utilizing the app’s Help section and typing in Delete Account to the search box.
To temporarily deactivate your Kik account, hit this link to get an email sent to you.
Permanent deactivation means deleting a Kik account forever. Once deleted, it cannot be restored. You will not get messages or get emails from Kik ever again. No one will be capable to search for you on the platform, and your username and profile will be forever expunged from your friends’ contact lists. Once you permanently deactivate or delete your account, you’ll no longer be ready to log back in or access contact information or message history. If you ever need to use the service in the future, you’ll have to sign up again with a different email address.
To lastingly deactivate your Kik account, click this link to get an email sent to you.
Kik makes it easy to quit
- Make sure you remember the email address you used to sign up for the service.
- Enter the correct details on Kik’s permanent deactivation website.
- Kik will send you an email with a link to permanently deactivate your account.
- If you or someone you recognize has searched for or sent messages to your account, your profile will be cached on their device, so it may take a few days to disappear off their device.
- Anyone else searching for your username won’t get you.
- Remove or uninstall the application from your phone, just as you would any other app.
Parents can deactivate a teen’s account
Deactivating a teen’s account implies it will no longer be searchable within Kik, and the account will be deleted from the Kik contacts lists of all the teen’s chat companions. Parents require to know their child’s username and the email address they used to register for the account. Here is how to find a teen’s username.
- A teen’s username is available from their smartphone by launching Kik, which opens the application to the main chats list.
- Click the icon at the top of the screen to open the settings, where you can see both the teen’s username and bold-faced display name.
- If you chat with your teen from your device, it’s easy to see their username from the chat.
Kik usernames do not have spaces and can combine upper and lower case letters, numbers, and special characters. If the teen has reset their Kik account, parents may find their username on the login screen. For parents who want to keep tabs on their children’s activities through Kik, Kik advises them to monitor activity from their child’s device instead of using their own or any other external device as Kik doesn’t share chat content across devices. That’s because Kik’s privacy features will automatically remove their chat history. Kik does not view or store chats between users.
Parents also have the power to disable their child’s accounts if they need them. To do that, they must submit a deactivation inquiry to Kik through email at [email protected] with Parent Inquiry in the subject line. The request must cover the teen’s Kik username and age.
There are several reasons you may decide to quit Kik, and the company has made it easy to disengage for anyone who chooses to do so. Kik lets parents go a step further if they need to allow them to block their kid’s access to the app entirely.
Does deactivating Kik delete conversations?
Deleting the Kik app means you will no longer send or receive a message on Kik. So if you delete your account permanently, then yes, it will delete entire chat messages on Kik. You are deactivating means you will no longer send or get any messages on Kik.
Can police trace kik?
No. You’d receive them from the district attorney’s office, and only if your Kik texts were involved in a police investigation in which the police seized your texts directly from Kik, with a judiciary warrant, and turned them over to the DA. Otherwise, the cop has less access to your Kik texts than you do.
What happens when you permanently delete my Kik account?
Permanent deactivation means deleting a Kik account forever. You will not get messages or get emails from Kik ever again. No one will be capable to search for you on the platform, and your username and profile will be forever expunged from your friends’ contact lists.
Do Kik messages disappear?
Kik is a push message service. It does not have your chats and does not store copies of anything you send. All messages are stored on your phone within the Kik app. If anything occurs to your phone or the app is corrupted or deleted, your messages disappear.